Why Kaleidoscope?

First blog post.  This has been a long time coming.  Been struggling with how to focus my thoughts and organize my various lives. I’m a teacher, writer, mother, wife, friend, school board member, professor and who knows what else.  Regardless,  I’ve finally decided it was enough struggling, time to just jump in, and see where things go.  I’ve titled the blog Kaleidoscope – I know – not terribly original but I’ve always loved kaleidoscopes. From an early age I appreciated how fleeting the beautifully perfect mosaic was with each turn of the scope. One of the best gifts my husband ever gave me was a handmade Kaleidoscope.

Another reason I think the title for the blog is appropriate is the very fact that I’ve waited so long to begin  because I couldn’t figure out how the disparate pieces in my life could come together – much like the little pieces in a kaleidoscope.  I’ve been afraid that if my blog wasn’t focused on one aspect of my life I wouldn’t be respecting my readers, as some I’m hoping will be writers, while others I’m hoping will be teachers, or mothers, or just interested in education, or family.  However, I’ve decided that it is because of all of life’s pieces and the fact that they’re constantly  changing that it was important for me to begin now –  to document my experience, my thinking, my aspirations and the people, places and things that influence me, because the special moments in life are fragile and fleeting and without this space, I’ve found it difficult to hold on to them – hold them in focus – much like the perfect design in the frame of a kaleidoscope.

Just for a little background: Kaleidoscope is derived from greek Kalos which means “beautiful” and eidos which means “that which is seen” and skopeo  which means “to examine or observe”  and was coined by Sir David Brewster a Scottish inventor in 1817.

2 thoughts on “Why Kaleidoscope?

  1. And I found you on twitter! I read around the web, at least in the writing/teaching/reading groups & haven’t found one blog that was named Kaleidoscope so far, so it’s a winner to me. I liked how you gathered all the pieces of your life under that umbrella, & many colored are the pieces, aren’t they. I like that background too. I have a kaleidoscope that turns anything into the art-wonderful! Welcome to the blogging world! If you want a good community, check out the Slice of Life Tuesday at Two Writing Teachers blog. It’s very fun & supportive & one of them are in the writer’s camp too. I’ll look for you in the #teacherswrite camp.

    • How motivating to wake up this morning and have my very first comment. Thanks for the words of encouragement. I will definitely check out Slice of Life Tuesday on the Two Writing Teachers Blog and will follow you on twitter.

Leave a Reply

