The Top 10 Reasons Why I Can’t Stop Reading Children’s & Young Adult Literature by Emily Meixner

I just loved this top 10. Really resonated with me so had to share.

Nerdy Book Club

For the past ten years, I have been teaching college courses on children’s and young adult literature.  Even after a decade, it’s still a thrill, and every semester I look forward to new books and new students.  Occasionally, usually around mid-semester, a student will ask why I love these texts so much:

“Don’t you want to read something else?”  he or she will say.
I’ll pretend to think for a moment.
“What’s not to love?” I’ll then respond, adding, “Why would anyone want to read anything else?”

I’ll say the same thing to curious colleagues and friends and to anyone else who might inquire.

But lately (can I blame this on the Polar Vortex, too?), I’ve felt the need to be more precise, more honest about my affection for – no, my obsession with – children’s and young adult literature.  So, to all of my students, colleagues, friends, and Nerdy…

View original post 1,893 more words

Leave a Reply

