Authentic Work

I know, two reblogs in one week. I just had to pass this along. This is near and dear to my heart. Whenever I work with teachers I talk about the implicit messages and limitations some practices have on kids. This post is a MUST read.

Three Teachers Talk

Last week I had the privilege of visiting several elementary school campuses around my area. It is always neat to go and see what other schools and other districts are doing. This time, all of the campuses I visited were elementary schools, and there is no question that elementary schools love to show student work. One thing that struck me as interesting was the types of work that I saw displayed. Take a look at these two images:

EXHIBIT A

photo 1EXHIBIT Bphoto 2

What do you notice about the two displays of student work? Any similarities? any differences?

The biggest thing that stuck out to me was that in Exhibit A, all of the student work looked exactly the same. I know you can’t read the text under each elephant, but it too was essentially the same on every page. I will disclose that Exhibit A was done by kindergarteners and Exhibit B was…

View original post 319 more words

One thought on “Authentic Work

Leave a Reply

