Writing Process Blog Hop

This week I am excited to participate in an Author’s Writing Process Blog Hop. While the questions are similar to the KidLit Author Blog Hop I participated in a few months ago, since this Blog Hop wasn’t specific to KidLit Author’s I thought I’d participate.

BookFor this Blog Hop participating authors answer four identical questions and then invite additional authors to join in the “Hop.” I was honored to be asked by my friend and fellow writer Vanessa Coggshall. With two toddlers and a newborn, Vanessa seeks to balance the mom/writer lifestyle on a daily basis. She is currently working on a memoir which focuses on life with her three year old, Emmy, who was diagnosed with Williams Syndrome as a baby. Vanessa also just helped edit and publish an anthology written by parents, friends, and family members of children with Williams Syndrome. She blogs about her life experiences with her children and husband at Williams Syndrome Smile.

So now onto my answers…

What are you working on right now?

I’m working on a bunch of picture book manuscripts at the moment–some new and some troubled favorites. In addition, I also have begun drafting ideas for an early chapter book series. I’m also actively working on getting an agent.

How does your work differ from other works in the genre?

That depends on the piece. In some cases I’m writing about a familiar topic but from a different point of view. Or I’m writing about a universal topic but focusing in on a single moment in time that greatly impacts the character. For my early chapter book series I think I’ve identified a relationship that has not been addressed very much in the genre so I’m excited to see where that goes.

Why do you write what you do?

I have a passion for picture books. Always have. When I was teaching upper-elementary grades I used picture books to predominantly help students develop their writing–but what was most powerful was how sharing picture books with older students touched their lives. Picture books provide access to places, people, and emotions in real, imaginary, and wonderful ways.

How does your writing process work?

Depends on the piece. Sometimes stories just come but that seems to happen less frequently than it had in the past. Most of the time I come up with a title, or phrase or just a relationship I want to explore. Then I start drafting by writing down anything that comes to mind about the topic. Sometimes it’s all in note form and other times I just write it out. I share my drafts and ideas with writing friends and they help keep me on track. After I have a draft, I revise and revise and revise. Oh, and then I revise. When I revise I work a lot on word choice and how the words sound when read aloud. I also work a lot on the structure. Writing a great piece has so many elements that each one, at least for me, has its own challenges and therefore the piece often times dictates the process.

I’m excited to invite Ann Ormsby to continue.

AnnOrmsby RecoveryRoom Poster 16x24Ann Ormsby has a master’s degree in journalism from New York University and a bachelor’s degree in English Literature and Writing from Drew University. Ormsby is a freelance writer and the Fiction Editor of the ezine The Greenwich Village Literary Review. Her work has been seen in The Newark Star-Ledger, The Huffington Post, njspotlight.com, The Alternative Press, hackwriters.com and patch.com, among other venues. She writes on reproductive freedom and other public policy issues. Her debut novel, The Recovery Room, which explores the topic of choice, won an Honorable Mention at the Paris Book Festival this year.
Let the Blog Hopping continue! Happy writing and reading!

2 thoughts on “Writing Process Blog Hop

  1. Rosanne, Great interview! Always so interesting reading about how other authors tackle their writing projects. Good luck with your pbs. It was wonderful seeing you at the conf. 🙂

Leave a Reply

