An Honest Reflection: No Ugly Crying Required

Just had to reblog this. It’s honest and exciting and I’m so thrilled that high school teachers are embracing Writing Workshop. Thank you THREE TEACHERS TALK for taking risks and for inspiring others.

Three Teachers Talk

I just finished an ugly cry. You know, the kind where you sob until your eyes close so tightly that you wonder if you might hurt yourself? The delicious, exhausting, purge of a cry that leaves you breathless and wholly satisfied at the same time? In my humble opinion, it’s the type of weep-fest that only great writing can deliver, and I am delighted to report that I just slobbered my way through another story’s end that left me wanting to pick up the book and start right over again. On the recommendation of colleague, I picked up Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls on Friday afternoon during last period and finished it by Sunday afternoon.

Though I could go on for pages about how amazing this book is, and how excited I am to 8621462book talk this story tomorrow, and how transformative I think this text could be for some…

View original post 992 more words

Leave a Reply

