Picture Book 10X10

42cc2-pb10for10015

It was difficult to come up with a list of only 10—but here it is.  These 10  picture books have stood the test of time for me (well mostly, some are new to me but I’m anticipating that they will stand the test of time).  I chose these books because:

  • I love to use them with students,
  • I turn to them when I need writing inspiration, and
  • they have each deeply touch me in some way.

1.

Oliver CoverOliver by Birgitta Sir is a new favorite —beautifully and simply written about being true to yourself and finding a friend.

2.

All the Places to Love CoverAll the Places to Love, by Patricia MacLachlan is an old favorite.  Thoughtful and descriptive text that touches the heart.  The illustrations are as magical as the text.

3.

My Momma Had a Dancing HeartMy Momma had a Dancing Heart by Libba Moore Gray. The playful language creates a playful mood while also addressing an unbreakable and special bond between a mother and daughter.

4.

My Father's HandsFather’s Hands, by Joanne Ryder is a descriptive piece that captures the bond between father and child.

5.

Water DanceWater Dance by Thomas Locker illustrates the water cycle magically and lyrically.

6.

Midnight in the mountainsMidnight in the Mountains by Julie Lawson is a story about a young girls first trip to the mountains. The quiet calm of the book reminds me of when I used to go upstate with my family.

7.

Kitchen DanceKitchen Dance by Maurice J. Manning is full of fun from the opening page. With onomatopoeia to amazing dialogue it is truly a joyful ride.

8.

Being FrankBeing Frank by Donna Earnhardt is another new favorite of mine.  It’s funny and poignant and can be enjoyed on so many levels.

9.

Amos and BorisAmos & Boris by William Steig is an old time favorite. The language, the characters, the friendship.  I just love everything about this book.

10.

Horton Hears a WhoAnd what picture book list would be complete without one from Dr. Suess.  My all time favorite Dr. Suess book is Horton Hears a Who!.  Some might think it’s been over done, but I disagree.  I will never tire of  the rhythm, the friendships, and of course Horton who sticks to what he believes.

7 thoughts on “Picture Book 10X10

  1. Many great titles here. I added Being Frank to my library reserves. It’s a new title to me. Can’t wait to check it out.

    So glad you could join us.
    Cathy

  2. You included several that I love! I use My Momma Had a Dancing Heart and All the Places to Love in my writer’s workshop. I think our science teachers might like Water Dance. I love Thomas Locker’s illustrations. Now I want to check out Midnight in the Mountains. I use When I was Young in the Mountains in our workshop, and this might be a good companion piece.

Leave a Reply

